Signing Up

For Teens only: It asks me if I want to 'Add information to Facebook?' when I sign up. What does this mean?

A. The Summer Reading Program website uses Facebook Connect to allow the user to connect to their Facebook account and post directly to their wall. If teens choose to connect to Facebook, they have the option of posting directly to their wall when they register for the program, as well as the books that they read.

If I sign up online and use the Summer Reading Program Website, is my information safe?

A. The library requests as little information as possible from you, and your name will never be visible to others viewing the site, even if you post reviews of the books you read. The database that contains all of the information about your account is secured by encrypted password access. However, we encourage you not to share your username or password with anyone.

An error window told me that my name already exists. What should I do?

A. There may be another person in the Summer Reading program with the same name. If you have not signed up for Summer Reading before (online or at the library), confirm that your information is correct and press OK. If you think that you may have already signed up for Summer Reading, press cancel and contact your local branch library to set your username and password.

Subscribe to RSS - Signing Up